Who Benefits Most From Weight-Loss TV Shows? | XFINITY TV News

Who Benefits Most From Weight-Loss TV Shows? | XFINITY TV News.

This is a really interesting article on the current trend of weight loss shows. Who does it benefit? Is it really making a difference in America?

I am one of those who doesn’t particularly find shows like the Biggest Loser inspiring. I’m sorry but anybody can lose weight when they are taken to a ranch and pretty much pushed day in and day out to lose weight. I also tend to agree with a quote in the article by a bariatric surgeon.

“Obesity is an epidemic and these shows are trivializing it,” he says, noting that the diet and exercise plans are often extreme and unsustainable. Still, Khalili says his patients can take some eating and exercise tips from these popular programs.

The new extreme makeover show seems a little different. The people featured on the show don’t go to camp and they go through the weight loss while living at home and facing the things day in and day out that got them fat. I haven’t watched it yet, but I might.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Brenda
    May 31, 2011 @ 06:27:55

    I watched the show last night. I was a little impressed. I thought they would work with her the whole time but they left her to her own devices and when she only lost 3 pounds in 3 months, that is reality!

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Congratulations, Rachel Oliver of Extreme Makeover: Weight Loss Edition! « I AM WHAT I EAT?!?
  3. Waning Woman
    Jun 02, 2011 @ 12:08:15

    I agree with you 100% on this. I’ve never been into watching the Biggest Loser. I think its all crap.

    Reply

  4. BlackBerry Mam
    Jul 31, 2011 @ 02:41:26

    I’ve never gotten into those shows but I hear the criticism around them. Being taken to a ranch to live, breathe and eat, or rather NOT eat, weight loss is extreme & underscores the real reality: obesity is an extreme disease that does require extreme intervention. The people who sign up to be apart of these shows know this, the producers know it, and the networks.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

