Decisions, Decisions

I made the decision tonight to go back to college. I’ve been batting it around for awhile now but I finally decided to do it. I want to be a nutritionist and I really want to work with bariatric patients. Being a bariatric patient myself and hearing stories from other bariatric patients about their horror stories with their nutritionists, many of which have no idea either what it’s like or any idea of the sometimes special needs of bariatric patients, really inspired me. The hubby is supportive of this idea. Now I have plenty of time to secure financing (go go federal student loans) and get all my ducks in a row for next semester since this one is just starting. I’m really excited, though, and just a little nervous.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Michelle Vandever
    Jan 17, 2011 @ 21:43:25

    Yay for you girlie!! I actually thought about nutrition as well when I was contemplating getting back into school. I ultimately decided on nursing though. I start this semester with chem 1 and sociology. I have about 6 classes I have to get out of the way as pre-req’s before I can apply to nursing school, but my goal is to get them all taken this year, apply to the nursing progam in the fall for May admission, then it is a 15 month accelerated program to my RN 🙂 I can’t wait to hear your progress in this endeavor!

    Reply

    • Jeanette
      Jan 22, 2011 @ 00:11:22

      I thought about being a nurse at one point years back and then I broke my ankle. I was not as heavy as I am even now, but I could not stand to be on my feet for long periods of time (imagine how worse that got over the years as I gained weight). My daughter wants to be a L&D nurse, though. Her experience when she was in pre-mature labor really inspired her.

      Reply

  2. alice
    Jan 17, 2011 @ 22:00:39

    Oh my gosh,Jeanette,that is great! you would know exactly how it feels and would bring experience with you.which i might add is severely lacking,the understanding is not there with my nut. how long will it take?will you be a registered nut? oh that looks funny,but you know what i mean.best of luck and health to you.

    Reply

  3. Michelle Vandever
    Jan 18, 2011 @ 10:56:00

    BTW, I have something for you on my blog 🙂

    Reply

  4. Lynn B
    Jan 18, 2011 @ 13:29:59

    Funny, I’ve been doing the same thing – just having a really hard time finding a program that fits my schedule and is local enough – Kaplan online is only $66K OMG – are they going to send someone to my house!!

    Reply

    • Jeanette
      Jan 22, 2011 @ 00:15:40

      Yeah, totally not doing Kaplan for that reason, even WITH student loans. Are they going to do my homework for me too? Maybe give me a massage while I do it instead? Crazy.

      I decided to start with a course in general studies at the local community college. I have a list of what courses I would need to transfer to University of Maryland and can kind of build my own program around that list since they don’t have one that fits for transfer. A few of my courses I am going to take via distance learning.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

