Feeling Normal

This weekend I attended a pot luck dinner. It was a lot of fun seeing people I had not seen in awhile. It was the first time in a long time I attended a large gathering of people and didn’t feel self-conscious. My weight loss has made me so much more confident in that regard, even though I still have a bit over 100 pounds to go.

I told myself before I went that nothing would be absolutely off-limits to me unless I was either allergic to it (shellfish, bah) or it was one of my major trigger foods (like potatoes). Fortunately, neither of those were a problem.  I put a little dollop of whatever I wanted on my plate and sat down with my friends to eat. Now, normally, I don’t pay attention to what everybody else is eating (and I suspect most people don’t) but, I was really curious so I took a look around. I learned something really cool – I eat just like my thin friends eat, only a little less than they do.

It was really awesome to finally feel normal (what is normal anyway? Huh?). For so long I hated going to events where I ate because I felt like a freak who could not get full and was always going back for seconds or thirds. Instead of feeling that way, I got comfortably ‘full’ (I never eat until I feel stuffed) and didn’t even graze on all the wonderful food that was sitting around. After my food digested a bit, I even had a small sliver of the most incredible pumpkin cheescake I’d ever tasted. As good as it was, that little sliver was enough and I was not tempted to go back and get more.

Over all, it was a wonderful experience for me. I’ve eaten out with friends since my surgery but never in such a large group setting. It was nice to know I could survive being surrounded by so much good food and it gave me an idea of how well I would be able to handle Thanksgiving this coming week. My strategy for it is the same, just a small bit of whatever I want, so long as I eat my protein first.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Angel
    Nov 22, 2010 @ 08:10:47

    Thank you for sharing this experience. It gives me hope.

    Reply

  2. Elizabeth
    Nov 22, 2010 @ 09:47:33

    Jeanette: Loved this post..I am struggling to find my way to “normal”

    I cant wait to see some photos! Love your wedding picture on OH but ready to see some of the honeymoon! 😉

    Reply

  3. Waning Woman
    Nov 22, 2010 @ 16:28:18

    While I’ve lost weight, I still don’t feel normal. Instead now, it seems like people are always asking me “That’s all you’re gonna eat?!?!”
    But like you said, ” What’s normal?” This is a far better way to live than how I was living pre-op.

    Reply

    • Jeanette
      Nov 22, 2010 @ 16:32:23

      Nobody was even paying attention to how much I was eating. Now, this wasn’t with family members and my mother-in-law may end up being one of those people who ask if that’s all I’m going to eat, but my friends? We were too busy socializing to be paying attention to each other’s plates.

      Reply

  4. Sheila
    Nov 23, 2010 @ 11:18:38

    YAY! I have to say even though I’m only one month post-op, I LOVE LOVE LOVE eating smaller portions. I hear of so many people who wish they could eat more, but it is so freeing to eat such a small amount and be SATISFIED. Love it.

    P.S. I love your little forks you bought, they are beautiful and I put them in my amazon wish list…I might have to get those just because they are so cute!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

