Unrealistic Expectations

I sometimes wonder if we do not have unrealistic expectations following weight loss surgery. To be honest, I’m not certain exactly what I expected but I sometimes feel like I’m a slow loser. Then I feel kind of like an asshole when I say things like, “I’m two and a half months post surgery and I’ve only lost 30 pounds.” In what universe was I ever able to lose 30 pounds in just two and a half months?

I saw a post the other day that said (paraphrasing) “I lost 25 pounds in two weeks then nothing! I’m SO dissapointed.” I didn’t read the whole post (just the title) and decided to avoid it. I just wasn’t certain I could be constructive in my response and not hurt someone’s feelings. 25 pounds in two weeks? That’s effin’ amazing!

It really got me thinking though. How many of us go into WLS with unrealistic expectations? What do you guys think?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Angel
    Nov 06, 2010 @ 05:20:41

    I think it’s really easy to compare yourself to someone else and that can lead to trouble. A perfect example is the lady who paid for my surgery. When I told her that I’d lost 40 since starting the pre-op process, she quickly explained why she hadn’t lost that much. I quickly pointed out that I weigh about 2 times more than she does. I’m going to drop excess weight a lot more quickly than she would because I just have exponentially more. I’m trying to focus on my own experience, get stronger, find a life that’s not centered around food, and find out what really works for me. This way, I can be sure that each hard-fought loss of a pound will mean victory, no matter how much more or less it is compared to anyone around me. Everyone’s experience is unique.

    Reply

  2. Linda
    Nov 06, 2010 @ 10:41:10

    I close or don’t even open lots of OH post for the same reason. It’s like, OH PLEASE!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

