Banana Protein Mini Muffins

Sorry, I don’t have any pictures of this. If you want one, you can find the original recipe here (I will copy the recipe itself below, along with my substitutions).

I love Shelly’s recipes over at The World According to Eggface. They’re simple, easy to follow and delicious. I often find myself tweaking them a little according to my own tastes and the ingredients I have on hand so they serve for fantastic inspiration.

I made the banana protein mini muffins today for the second time. I gave one to my one year old grandson and he devoured it in about five minutes flat. I think they have the seal of approval.  Below is my version of the recipe (sorry, no nutritional information right now, your portion size and ingredients may vary).

  • 1 Egg, beaten
  • 3 Tablespoons Milk (I used unsweetened almond milk this time)
  • 2 Tablespoons Sugar Free Torani Syrup (I used SF Caramel)
  • 1 whole Banana, mashed
  • 1 Tablespoon Canola Oil
  • 3 Tablespoons Atkins Baking Mix
  • 1 teaspoon Baking Powder
  • 2 Tablespoons Almond Meal
  • 1 and 1/2 teaspoon Cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon Nutmeg
  • 1 scoop Vanilla Protein Powder (I use Gladiator Vanilla from Smoothie King)
  • Pinch salt
  • Optional: 2 Tablespoons Chopped Nuts

In a measuring cup mix egg, milk, syrup, banana and oil and combine thoroughly. In a separate bowl, mix pancake mix, almond meal, cinnamon, nutmeg, protein powder and salt. Tip dry into wet and stir till combined. Pour into a non stick mini muffing tin that has been sprayed with Pam. Optional: Place a nut on the top of each muffin.

Bake at 350 for 8-10 minutes, until knife inserted comes out clean. Makes 12.

There’s a fantastic recipe on the same page for ricotta banana filling for the muffins, which is also delicious, but I like to heat mine up a little and smear with some butter. My favorite indulgence is Kerrygold  Pure Irish Butter.

Edit: Put this into spark people. Here’s my nutrition information per each mini muffin:  Calories: 44.3, Fat: 2.4g, Carbs: 3.2g, Protein 3.2g – NOTE: Yours may vary depending upon your ingredients.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Waning Woman
    Nov 04, 2010 @ 17:18:55

    I need to buy me some Atkins bake mix. It used to be terrible, but I’m sure they’ve improved it since I last bought it. You’re definitely inspiring me to try some different things

    Reply

    • Jeanette
      Nov 04, 2010 @ 17:22:42

      I havent’ tried making pancakes or anything else with it where you taste mostly the baking mix. For the muffins, it’s great. Shelly uses a multigrain pancake mix but I have a hard time finding it, even to order online, so I substituted the Atkins.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

