I know we have to be careful not to fall back into our old ways and I understand about head hunger but what do you do when you just want something goooooooodddddd?

That depends on your definition of gooooooooooooooddddd. Seriously. All my food is ‘good’. It’s satisfying not just with taste but with texture. My tastes have changed somewhat since surgery too. I no longer want sweets. I took a bite of a friend’s pie at lunch one afternoon and, ugh, it was TOO sweet, didn’t even taste good to me. The same pie I loved just a few months ago. Go figure, right?

Ask me anything

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Angel
    Oct 31, 2010 @ 19:47:01

    my taste is really sensitive, too. My husband got a slush from 711 today. It was way too sweet. Even the sugar-free drinks I use daily are a bit too sweet. i’m enjoying soups more these days.

    Reply

    • Jeanette
      Oct 31, 2010 @ 19:50:35

      Yeah, Crystal Lite is sometimes way too sweet for me right now. I wasn’t even remotely tempted by halloween candy. We always buy it when we’re going to be home because this neighborhood has tons of kids. Didn’t even want a taste, LOL

      Reply

  2. cheryl
    Nov 01, 2010 @ 11:20:46

    If I really want it…I eat it!! since my sleeve only allows me to eat tiny amounts, it helps me to control my urges. I eat the one bite, or small amount,and I am satisfied! I won’t gain weight from one bite. I had this surgery, so I could still enjoy food, not live my life on a diet. The sleeve helps me to control volume and constant hunger. Last week, I had one piece of pizza as opposed to 6 like prior to surgery.. Halloween, I have one chocolate bar, instead of a bag of chocolates. I love my sleeve!! Im still losing weight, so it works for me!

    Reply

    • Jeanette
      Nov 01, 2010 @ 11:26:51

      Oh definitely. I don’t eat ‘white’ carbs. I can’t eat them. Even if my plan ‘allowed’ them, I can’t eat them. These are the foods that will cause me to binge (and I hear they go down soooo easily with the sleeve, LOL). I’m a carb addict so I know I have to be careful. That doesn’t mean everybody has to go low carb, but it’s what seems to work best for sleevers in the losing phase at least.

      We all know it wasn’t one mini Halloween candy bar that got us fat. It also wasn’t one slice of pizza. The sleeve really makes eating like a ‘normal’ person (though with smaller portions) possible.

      Still, I don’t deprive myself. Feeling deprived is a very good way to lead to sabotage of yourself. I have a diet. I’m not ON a diet, and I think that’s the distinction.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

