Two Months Post Surgery

This is ten days over due. Eeek! Sorry about that. Life has been very busy.

I had my VSG surgery on August 18 of this year. It’s very weird to think about because it both doesn’t feel like two months have passed and it feels like a lifetime has passed. I feel completely ‘normal’ and not as if I had MAJOR FREAKING SURGERY just two short months ago.

I feel fantastic. Overall, I’ve lost 90 pounds (as of today, not the 18th, though I was at about 86 pounds then). Just a note, 60 of that was pre-surgery. Just ten more pounds and I will reach my first milestone of 100 pounds! I’m super excited about this but, to be honest, I’m excited to be the weight I am now. I have not been at this weight in at least ten years.

I’ve been following my dietary plan very closely. Eating has become fairly routine for me. My husband has gone low carb so I cook for the both of us and just measure out my little portion of food. It still blows my mind sometimes when I think about it that I can be full and satisfied off so little. As the swelling has gone down, I’ve learned I can eat about five tablespoons of soft/mushy type foods like chili. If I eat chicken wings, I can only eat three., two if it’s the ‘drumette’ portion, and I am full. Not an uncomfortable full, just … full, satiated.

I do not have a lot of hunger anymore. I suppose the ghrelin is leaving my system. When I do get hungry, it’s not the crushing, almost panicked hunger from before. It’s very hard for me to describe but it’s more of an almost empty feeling than what I am used to as hunger. On the days I do get hungry, it seems to be every four hours or so, just the way we’re told we ‘should’ be feeling hungry. Pre-surgery, it felt as if I was always starving, as if I could never fill up and stay full. Whether that was from my huge, stretched out stomach or the excess ghrelin in my system, who knows?

The one thing I do not do is walk enough. That is something I need to change. Now that the weather is cooling off into fall, it may be easier to do. My neighborhood even has a lovely area for walking I should take full advantage of. It’s just one more thing to remain vigilant about. Otherwise, I’m doing fantastic and follow my program.

I can’t wait to see what the next two months hold.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Angel
    Oct 30, 2010 @ 04:19:24

    this makes me very excited. I can’t wait to know what it feels like to eat something delicious and stop when i’ve had enough. That will be so new for me. Have you been to a restaurant yet? How did it work for you?

    Reply

    • Jeanette
      Oct 30, 2010 @ 12:53:47

      Hey Angel 🙂 Yes, I’ve been to a restaurant (a couple in fact). It was fine. I just ordered an appetizer and ended up taking half of that home with me! I didn’t feel weird or anything.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

