Heartburn

The past couple days have been really rough with heartburn. I’m a little over a month out (my surgery was August 18) and had not been having any issues with heartburn or reflux. Pre-surgery, I suffered from Gastroesophageal reflux disease (aka GERD) and my reflux was awful. I had a small hiatal hernia my surgeon repaired when he did my sleeve and it really seemed to help. I continued to take Prilosec OTC every morning and was doing fantastic. Two days ago, I was woken up in the middle of the night with the most horrible reflux and feeling like my esophagus was on fire.

Thank goodness for the ultra powerful strength cherry flavored Maalox. I don’t know if it actually coats the esophagus or not, but it feels like it does. It soothed the burning and helped clear out some of the extra acid. I’m taking my Prilosec twice a day now, once in the morning and once before bed. Yesterday was a little better. Last night was better still.

I hope this settles down soon. I’ve heard some post sleeve patients were able to get rid of the PPI (protein pump inhibitor, Prilosec is one) at some point post surgery.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Michelle
    Sep 26, 2010 @ 16:45:35

    I was waking up with a burning sleeve of fire at about the same time out. I ended up going ahead and filling my nexium script because the OTC stuff wasn’t helping. If you go to purplepill.com you can get a coupon to work with your insurance copay, so that it won’t hurt the pocket quite so much.

    Yesterday I got a letter from my insurance co saying they filled it once as a courtesy, but further fills will require authorization from my doctor. (Umm isn’t that what a prescription is? I mean really, if I was going to abuse a prescription drug, would it really be nexium? WTF!)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

