Low Carb Ricotta Bake

I got this recipe from Shelly over at The World According to Eggface and adjusted it for my ingredients and my baking method. Instead of making it like a casserole, I divided the portions into a muffin tin to make it easier for me to keep track of an actual portion size. Right now, I can only eat one to one and a half portions at a time.

This is a super easy recipe to make and fantastic if you are on a soft or mushy food phase post surgery. It’s delicious even if you haven’t had surgery, too. Pictures and recipe after the cut.

Ricotta Bake

80z ricotta cheese

1/2 cup grated parmesan cheese

1 large egg, beaten

Italian seasoning to taste

salt and pepper to taste

11 tablepsoons Don Pepino’s Pizza Sauce

1 to 1.5 cups shredded mozzarella and provolone cheese

Preheat oven to 450 degrees. Lightly grease (Pam is fine) 1 regular muffin tin. Mix Ricotta, parmesan, beaten egg and spices in bowl. Divide mixture evenly into the muffin tin. I was able to put three tablespoons into each, ending up with eleven portions.

Spoon 1 tablespoon of the pizza sauce over each portion and sprinkle with the cheese. I love cheese and ended up using about 1 and a half cups over all.

Bake at 450 degrees for 20 to 25 minutes. I put mine in for 23 and they came out nice and browned on top with really bubbly cheese. I probably could have cooked them for only 20 minutes and have it be fine, but this is how I like my cheese.

The result, quite tasty. My husband who has not had weight loss surgery loved them, too. For those curious about the nutritional information, this is what mine broke down into with the brands of ingredients I used, per individual ‘muffin’ (heh). Fat: 5.94g/Carbs: 2.73/Net Carbs: 2.43/Protein: 6.38/Calories: 88


(The original recipe is posted here: http://theworldaccordingtoeggface.blogspot.com/2007/08/pureed-foods.html)

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Waning Woman
    Sep 21, 2010 @ 11:25:29

    mmmmm. Looks like something that the kiddo’s might like, too. I can call them pizza cups 😀

    Reply

    • Jeanette
      Sep 21, 2010 @ 11:28:52

      Yeah! Something you can do for the kids as well if they like pepperoni. Buy the large sandwich size pepperoni, mold one into a muffin tin and fill with the cheese mixture and bake normally. Hubby and I used to do this pre-surgery with a different (but similar) recipe. It satisfied my pizza craving when I was low carbing it on my surgeon’s instructions.

      Reply

  2. ptz ip camera
    Jan 15, 2011 @ 09:58:06

    Hey can I copy and paste this post on my web site? What references must I give? You might give this info for other people too.

    Reply

    • Jeanette
      Jan 16, 2011 @ 01:21:22

      The recipe originally came from another website (linked at the bottom of the post). I have no problems with you sharing my post on your site so long as you link it like I did with the original. 🙂

      Reply

  3. Danielle
    Apr 06, 2011 @ 00:13:17

    Thanks for posting this recipe. I ate one for breakfast and then dreamt about them the rest of the day.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

