My first soft food meal

I advanced to the soft food stage of my post surgery diet. I ended up not having an egg. Instead I had turkey chili, from a can. It was wonderful too. Of course after approximately five weeks on nothing but liquids (with some broths and strained soups), just about anything would have been wonderful.

I had 4 tablespoons (approx 1/4 cup) of turkey chili with a bit of shredded cheddar melted on top. I also added two teaspoons of greek yogurt after it was all heated to use in place of sour cream. I tolerated it very well and think I chose exactly the right amount of food because I felt sated but not uncomfortable. Just after I took my last bite, I had a bit of a burp. I think that may be my ‘soft signal’ that I am full and not to take another bite. From what I understand, everybody has their own signal they are full. I’ve read of some VSGers having runny noses or hiccups or even, as I did, a burp.

It’s been about six hour since I ate and I am starting to feel a little hungry again. Before this surgery, I would have felt like I was starving by now. I am so grateful I had it done.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lynn B
    Sep 06, 2010 @ 22:21:17

    Congrats – I can’t wait to be posting my first soft food encounter. Sounds like you’re doing a great job, keep it up!

    Reply

    • Jeanette
      Sep 06, 2010 @ 22:24:04

      Thank you, Lynn. I hope it continues to go well. I am going to take my time introducing new foods to hopefully avoid too many intolerances. Besides, I need to finish that can of chili. LOL

      Reply

  2. b
    Sep 07, 2010 @ 23:15:09

    Congrats!!! I have been lucky; so far I haven’t come across anything that I can not tolerate.

    Reply

  3. Waning Woman
    Sep 10, 2010 @ 12:29:21

    You’re doing well by taking your time and not pushing it. In the beginning I measured out everything, but now at almost 7 months out, I know when to quit. I don’t have a soft stop sign, I just get full

    Reply

Leave a Reply

