Mean Girls and Weight Loss Surgery

This is something I’ve been thinking about for awhile. I’ve noticed a trend in the post weight loss surgery world, one that kind of bothers me. I’ve noticed a lot of us (and I’ve been guilty of it myself so I’m not pointing fingers at anybody) turn into ‘mean girls’ after surgery.

An example. Someone posts a picture comparing a curvy girl (usually the lovely Marilyn Monroe) to someone who might be considered by most standards too thin. The comments on the thin girl are cutting. Some examples: That’s so gross! That’s unattractive! She looks sooooo unhealthy! That’s disgusting.

Those same comments posted on a photo of an obese woman would have us all frothing at the mouth, getting out the torches and pitchforks, and all out lynching the people making such insensitive comments. Why do we find it acceptable in the first case but not in the second? Is there really a difference between saying the obese woman looks disgusting or saying the thin woman looks disgusting?

In my mind? No, there’s not much difference. I’m no size advocate but, personal preferences aside, I don’t think either is acceptable. I wonder if some of us just forget how hurtful and hateful those kinds of comments really are.

What do all of you think? I really want to hear opinions.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tracy Stevenson
    Nov 26, 2011 @ 16:03:09

    Oh Boy, I hear ya! I’ve only been around twitter in the wls scence for about a year but have been on twitter since 2008 and have 11 years under my belt for wls. I consider myself a nice person. I have bumped into some snippy people out here is wls land. But one thing I’ve learned just from life is if people are mean it is their problem not mine. I just steer away. I’m always friendly but I don’t need to stay around to be subjected to someones anger. WLS is an amazing thing but it doesn’t change our inner being just our shell. I’ve found folks have a lot of work after the weight is off. Good post.

    Reply

  2. Lori
    Dec 05, 2011 @ 15:07:35

    I really think that if you can’t say something nice, don’t say anything at all. The reason young girls have so many body issues is because we focus TOO much on the outside, and too little on the inside. And a very skinny girl has as many issues as a heavy one. Let’s take the focus off of physical indicators and focus on health and inner beauty, I say. :)

    Reply

  3. Carla
    Dec 06, 2011 @ 07:59:15

    a friend and her hubby left my gym to join another. Well he is a very BUFF guy. He has worked very hard (w/o WLS). Went from over 300 to a stealth 205, at 6’2″. When he walked into this “new” gym… he was told… “Sir, we have a zero intimidation policy here”. They didn’t know his history yet, nor that he is a well known PASTOR in our community. And to think I was actually thinking of going to that gym…. NEVER

    Reply

  4. Lisa
    Jan 09, 2012 @ 13:36:48

    How are things? I noticed you had a 6 month stall. Ia m right there with you. Did your nut give you any good advice? I can’t afford to see mine right now. :) Thanks!

    – Lisa

    http://inweighovermyhead.blogspot.com/

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 63 other followers

